The old drug-his-prunes, fake-the-fight, ransack-the-apartment, and switch-places-with-the-Admiral trick


I went to see Get Smart this last week.  I love seeing movies in the theater; it’s one of my favorite things to do, actually.  I’ll go see pretty much anything, though I haven’t really gone to see much in the past six months or so.

I had been looking forward to this movie in particular. Having grown up watching reruns of the show, I was nervous that my childhood was about to be lanced by the movie remake of the show.  I’m happy to say, I came out of the screening with a smile.

There were things that I didn’t like (a fat suit moment in particular), but on the whole, it was a good time.  Conspicuously missing was Maxwell’s Smart’s distinct nasal voice, but looking back, I’m glad Carrel made the character his own instead of simply parroting Don Adams’ performance.  Carrel and Hathaway were surprisingly good together, something I was, I think understandably, worried about.

With a few well placed nods to the original series, and a some supporting characters played by some very funny actors (notably Masi Oka who plays one of my favorite characters on Heroes), Get Smart managed to get it right.

Bookmark

Leave a Reply

