I’ve wrestled with reality for 35 years, Doctor, and I’m happy to state I finally won out over it.

I watched Lars and the Real Girl last night. I’ve been wanting to check it out for a while, but for one reason or another, just kept putting it off. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think the trailer was a bit misleading as to the tone of the film, selling it as more of a comedy than it actually was. Don’t expect to be rolling on the floor or even laughing out loud. For those that don’t know, Lars and the real girl tells the story of a man named Lars (surprise) and his new girlfriend, who happens to be a very real looking love doll named Bianca (don’t’ worry, Bianca is very religious and the happy couple sleeps in separate rooms). While this could have very easily been way over the top and overdone, the script and the cast pulled it off perfectly.

Lars and the Real Girl dealt with some heavy issues and a very complex character. I can’t think of many actors other than Ryan Gosling that could have pulled of the character of Lars. I believed him every second he was on screen. His was a solid and consistent performance. His better roles might not be as well remembered as his turns in Remember the Titans or The Notebook, but his roles in Half Nelson The Believer have shown him to be an incredible actor capable of tackling dark characters.

Emily Mortimer also deserves mention for her role as Lars’ sister-in-law. Her character is loving and incredibly kind. Mortimer did an excellent job and added a much-needed element of warmth to the movie. There are a few scenes where she completely steals the show.

This is very touching story told very well by a great team of performers. It is a story of love and commitment, and the lengths we will go to in order to protect those we love. It is at the same time both very funny and very painful. As such, it manages to capture a realism that, despite some extraordinary events, keeps the audience concerned and enthralled.

Bookmark

2 responses to “I’ve wrestled with reality for 35 years, Doctor, and I’m happy to state I finally won out over it.

  1. hey thanks for the comment buddy

    I actually haven’t watched either of these movies you recommended… I’m going to check ’em out

    I agree with you on Ryan Gosling’s impeccable performance. The whole cast, definitely. Brilliant movie.

    I’ll keep up with your blog for a while, good stuff

    cheers

  2. From the trailer I thought this was going to be one of those movies where the title character comes across as a simpleton and no one knows what to do with him. My husband made me see this and I am glad he did. All of the performances were delightful and it was one of my favorites of 2007.

Leave a Reply

