A lot of people ask me if I were shipwrecked, and could only have one book, what would it be? I always say ‘How to Build a Boat’

I started 50 Book Challenge at the end of last October.  The idea is you read 50 books in a year.  Apparently they named it pretty well.  The only other real stipulation, and its more of a suggestion, is that the average length should be at least 300 pages.

So here are, in no particular order, a few of my favorite books of the last year, well since October anyway.

I, Claudius – My favorite professor in college was always talking about this one, and I had been meaning to read it for a long, long time.  It is a great book, especially if you are interested in ancient Rome.

Till We Have Faces – Believe it or not, this was the first C.S. Lewis book I ever read.  The imagery was amazing, and there is some serious food for thought.  Writing an allegory without it coming off preachy can be tough, but this one really works.

A Farewell to Arms – I’m not sure how, but I had managed to go my entire life without reading any of Hemmingway’s novels.  The high school I went to did not place a high value on literature.  At any rate, I loved this book.  It was completely different than I thought it would be, and it took me a while to get into Hemmingway’s Spartan style.  By the end of the book, though, I was hooked.

Chasing Che – This is a first-hand account of a man who followed Che Guevara’s famous motorcycle trip in South America.  I found it at a library book sale and picked it up out of curiosity.  I’m really glad I did.  It’s not the best writing in the world, but the story really got to me, now I just need to fix up my old motorcycle.  I’ve already got my passport.

Into Thin Air – There is something wrong with a person who reads about a horrible disaster, then wants to go out and do the same thing.  I am one of those people.  I never really had any interest in Everest, but now I really want to climb it.  That’s not totally crazy.  Right?

The Last Enemy – I like memoirs and I like reading about aviation, so when you mix the two, I’ll probably like it.  This book really drew me in.

All of these I definitely recommend.  Check them out; I think you’ll enjoy them.

Bookmark

3 responses to “A lot of people ask me if I were shipwrecked, and could only have one book, what would it be? I always say ‘How to Build a Boat’

  1. Hysterical headline.

  2. I can’t explain it either, but after reading Into Thin Air I got fascinated with the idea of climbing Everest! Then again, after reading I, Claudius I became fascinated with the idea of becoming a Roman Emperor. Maybe it’s just me.

  3. There are some really great books out there, even the new ones! I read about 150 books a year. Some wonderful old titles I read over again and won’t part with. I had so many that I started selling them online when I ran out of space. Then I kept buying. Then I went into the books business. lol You can find some of mine and thousands of other titles at http://www.tbellsbooks.com. Into Thin Air was fabulous. The new…. the old…. I could go on for days. One of the books I would take through the Time Machine with me would be Angela’s Ashes.

Leave a Reply

