You’re the best around, no one’s ever gonna keep you down.

Here’s my list of the five best filmmakers. Enjoy.

1. Francis Ford Coppola – With movies like The Godfather I and II, The Conversation and most importantly Apocalypse Now, Coppola is unparalleled. He is the best that has been and it will take someone incredible to top him. Best work to date: Apocalypse Now

2. Sir Alfred Hitchcock – It is still amazing and disgraceful that no Oscar was ever awarded to Hitchcock (except for the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award). He was a master of the art and was responsible for some of the most recognizable and iconic films ever produced. There will never be another Hitchcock. Best work: Vertigo

3. The Coen Brothers, Joel and Ethan – This pair of brothers has gained a lot of recognition in this past year for their incredible film No Country For Old Men, but their previous films stand on their own as great achievements. Movies like Fargo, The Man Who Wasn’t There, The Lady Killers, and, of course, The Big Lebowski are all great examples of their wit, unique characters, and distinct style. Best work to date: No Country For Old Men

4. Tim Burton – I’m sure some will disagree, but they’re wrong. Burton may have made some missteps in his career (read Planet of the Apes), but nonetheless, he is a great filmmaker and artist. His unique perspective gives his films a charm not seen in other movies. Best work to date: Big Fish

5. Steven Spielberg – With movies like Munich, Saving Private Ryan, and Schindler’s List, really there is no debating Spielberg’s spot on this list. Even from his early days he was showing his talent for storytelling and action with movies like Duel. Best work to date: Munich

Bookmark

6 responses to “You’re the best around, no one’s ever gonna keep you down.

  1. profileofadipshit

    Coppola… Phenomenal without dispute.
    Hitchcock… If anyone tried disputing, they’d be eligible for the rare, “your opinion is wrong,” comment.
    Coens… Not on my top five, but I definitely think they’re amazing.
    Tim Burton… Absolutely. Such an eye for detail. And anyone who can understand that Danny Elfman needs to score everything I love.
    Spielberg… I don’t know. Recently, I watched Jurassic Park. I almost forgot how ridiculous it was. He’s provided us such great material. But then in counterpoint, he’s also given us some of the worst out there. He didn’t stop making Jurassic Park movies, either. Men in Black 2? Sorry. Gremlins 2? Ouch. I also despise Indiana Jones. But his work for the Tiny Toons/Animaniacs material is top notch. I would give him about a 95% success ratio.

    Right now, my new fascination is Guillermo del Toro. I’m in love with everything he’s done. I think a few more pieces of work like El Orfanato, Pan’s Labyrinth, Hellboy (including the cartoons,) and he’s going to climb to my list.

  2. Apocalypse now is brilliant indeed.
    And I must say I love Big fish, and see it now and again, but Sleepy Hollow did nothing for me – a major disappointment. Maybe you’d put that in the misstep-archive?

    I am a little disappointed that you haven’t mentioned Brother where art thou – a hilarious and mysterious film I loved. No country for old men was first class, true.

  3. I don’t know, Boblet, I actually enjoyed Sleepy Hollow. No, it’s not Burton’s best, or even close to it, but I still thought it a decent movie.

    You’re right though, Oh Brother Where Art Thou should have been included. No slight intended, pure oversight.

  4. Hehe. Not to worry – fair enough! The reason why I am not crazy about Sleepy Hollow, is simply because it is a tad predictable – I like suprises. It is solidly made, though.
    I enjoyed the post, and I don’t hoover for oversights – I just really like “Oh Brother”.
    The filming and technical works of Saving Private Ryan was stunning, but I thought parts of the story a little thin.

  5. Today's Trash

    Hi! Thanks for posting your top five film makers. It gave me an idea to watch their films again (wow I havent seen Apocalypse Now). I love Coppola, Hitchcock and the Coen Brothers but I would like to add to the list Giuseppe Tornatore because of his monumental work in Cinema Paradiso, and also Yimou Zhang for his work in Not One Less and The Road Home. Oh! I can’t forget Chan-wook Park for Old Boy!

  6. Wheres Stanley Kubrick?

Leave a Reply

