Well, after this I should think nothing of falling down stairs.

I wasn’t familiar with the Savannah College of Art and Design until I came across This short called Pencil Face a while back. (A higher resolution version is available here.)

I watched the other shorts hosted by ScadShorts.com, but this one really stood out to me for several reasons. The biggest is that it didn’t at all feel like a student film. The sound, lighting and camerawork are all very good. Director Christian Simmons did an excellent job with this project.

Also, it has a distinct Burtonesque feel, which, for me at least, is a big selling point. Pencil Face keeps tension going with eerie music and by really not explaining anything.

At any rate, hope you enjoy.

Bookmark

3 responses to “Well, after this I should think nothing of falling down stairs.

  1. I have seen that, yes, and it is delightful! I love the bizarreness and the complete lack of explanation. Very good.
    As my studies include film and tv production, I notice a marked diffrence between my taste and fellow students. Most of them seems to be in favour of linear, clear stories explained in large letters (helvetica, maybe..:-) ) …

  2. dontdigonswine

    Thanks for the comment. I absolutely adore Before Sunrise as well. Keeps me reminded of all the possibilities of life. That maybe the person you’re sitting next to anywhere could be the person you’ll spend the rest of your life with

  3. Nice. Hadn’t seen that one before.

Leave a Reply

