And Now, a Book Giveaway.


******** This Contest Is Now Closed ***************

I’m going to try something new, and we’ll have to see how well everyone likes it. If you all do, we might make this a regular thing.

If you’ve read more than a couple posts here at The Eighth Art, you’re well aware of the fact that I love books. I buy new ones whenever I get the chance. I have reached a point, rather I passed the point some time ago, where I have too many books. Let me qualify: I don’t really think you could ever really have too many books, and I love to be surrounded by them. However, I live in a one bedroom apartment, and space is at a premium.

And so, here’s the idea: A book giveaway here on The Eighth Art. Not exactly an original idea in and of itself, so here’s the spin. I will be picking the book at random from my library after I have all the entries. I’ll post the title of the book and the winner of the drawing at the same time next Friday (August 8).

You could end up with anything from Thor Heyerdahl’s writings on anthropology to Winston Churchill’s series on World War II to Annie Proulx’s excellent novel The Shipping News. It’ll be kind of like Russian Roulette only with books, and no risk of dying. Actually, it’s nothing like Russian Roulette.

One disclaimer: None of the books are new, so no whining when your book isn’t in mint condition. Don’t worry; the book will be in good condition, I do take care of my library.

And now the logistics. Leave a comment on this post and you get one entry into the pool. If you post a link to the contest, you get an additional two entries, for a total of three. Just send me an email with a link to your post. I’ll put all the names in a hat on Thursday and draw our winner. I will have pulled out the book by that point, and who the winner is will not affect what book is selected.

Questions? Let me know. Good luck.

Bookmark

28 responses to “And Now, a Book Giveaway.

  1. Umm, if we enter this, aren’t we risking getting a book that we don’t want and cluttering our own shelves just to clear yours?

    The spirit of the giveaway is well-meant, but unless you give the winner someway to choose or veto what you send this doesn’t necessarily seem like a good deal for the winner who probably has their own bookshelf space problems. 😉

    There’s a reason people without a death wish don’t play Russian roulette.

  2. Sorry, that last post should have been under this user name (Darn Blogger blogs making me login to accounts I never use–no, I don’t mean this WP.com blog).

  3. Well, there’s always someone that feels they need to rain on the parade. Thanks Ann/Anysia.

    The idea isn’t to get rid of books I don’t like. I don’t keep bad books in my library. If I was really just trying to clear my shelves I wouldn’t be pay to ship one book once a week. The point was to make a fun drawing. Beyond that, how hard is it to get rid of a book that you got for free?

  4. I think it’s a great idea! Afterall, we are all responsible for our own bookshelves, aren’t we? And you are doing something very clever and thoughtful for your readers. Kind of like a mystery prize, I love surprises!

    Thanks for offering one of your books, I’d love to win it!

  5. Lol I like the sense of mystery 🙂 I wouldn’t mind winning!

  6. I pointed out that good book/bad book is in the eye of the beholder and you may end up wasting a perfectly good book on a perfectly good reader who does not share your taste on that book.

    That’s hardly “raining on your parade”.

  7. Whoops, my bad. Thanks!

  8. Of course, good book/bad book is in the eye of the beholder, but I think the point is to be a mystery. You know, like those mystery boxes that novelty shops sell for ten bucks, and you have no idea what’s inside.

    Part of the fun is not knowing. And, hell, if you end up with a book you don’t want, you can always give it to someone who does, or sell it on eBay, or donate it to your local library.

  9. Just wanted to drop you a line and say hi. I love the idea of a book giveaway!

    Hope that you are having a great summer.

    Lindsey

  10. This is great and hilarious. But please, don’t give me a book. My bookshelves are overflowing as it is — I even have a box of books you can give away if you’d like. Actually, can you? 🙂

  11. Hi! I think this is a great idea! Please enter me!

  12. Pingback: Free Books - 2 August 2008 < Rat’s Reading

  13. Sounds fun!! Count me in :))

  14. That sounds like a fantastic idea and I would love for my name to be in pile!

  15. The Winston Churchill’s series on World War II sounds interesting but you can just send me any book. I love books!

    I’ll be glad to help you reduce the clutter! LOL!!

  16. Count me in on the mystery book prize; exciting to see what one wins.

    yourstrulee at sasktel dot net

  17. I think this is interesting a great way to get a surprise book that you may noy have heard of.

  18. What a cute idea! It’s an adventure, surprises are fun 😀

  19. Wow, this is such a great idea! The mystery! The intrigue! =D Thanks so much for this really awesome contest!

    ~Lucy D =)

  20. What a great idea! Please enter me.

  21. Geez, bad thing I come from the other side of the planet! I love reading collecting books!

  22. hi!

    not knowing is fun. as long as books are used and in good condition and given away for free, who am i to complain? they’re books and i love them.

    *hmm* think I still have a space for that book that will come my way. 🙂

    if you’re sending international, toss my name in the hat, please.

  23. This sounds like fun! Please add my name to the draw. I also love books! 🙂

  24. I would love to be surprised! Thanks for the great giveaway and the great idea.

  25. This is a very interesting and fun contest! Please enter my name in your virtual hat. Thanks very much…..Cindi

  26. I’m always up for a free book. =)

  27. Pingback: And we have a winner. « The Eighth Art

Leave a Reply

